271 JEEMS BAYOU FISHING AND HUNTING CLUB RECORDS, 1896-1971.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Chartered May 24, 1923, the Jeems Bayou Fishing and Hunting Club has been in existence since the 1890’s. Its stated purpose is fishing, hunting, the cultivation of sociability among its members, and the enforcement of laws relative to the protection of game and fish. Records include by-laws, minutes, membership lists, correspondence, stock certificates and photographs.

Back to the Top

272 LOUELLA ELIZABETH (LOCKE) MERCER SCRAPBOOKS, 1890-1920.

1.5 linear ft.

Louella Mercer, wife of W.D. Spencer, prominent Bossier Parish planter and merchant. Home at Taylortown, Louisiana. Seven children including John Mercer for whom two of the scrapbooks were prepared. Scrapbooks include clippings (historical, marriages, deaths, etc.) unidentified family photographs, poetry, novelties, and greeting cards.

Back to the Top

273 ARCHITECTURAL BLUEPRINTS AND DRAWINGS, MISCELLANEOUS, 1898-1968.

Architectural Drawings

Miscellaneous collection of architectural blueprints and drawings, 1898-1968.

Back to the Top

274 COTTON BUREAU. TRANS-MISSISSIPPI DEPT., CONFEDERATE WAR DEPT. RECORDS, 1862-1865.

Film 61: 9 reels microfilm.
(Originals in National Archives) NARS purchase.

General correspondence of the Headquarters Office of the Cotton Bureau at Shreveport, Louisiana during the Civil War.

Back to the Top

275 INTERNAL REVENUE ASSESSMENT LISTS FOR LOUISIANA, 1863-1866.

Film 62: 3 reels microfilm.
(Originals in National Archives) NARS purchase.

Internal Revenue Assessment Lists for Louisiana, 1863-1866. District 1, Divisions 1-15; District 2, Divisions 1-9; District 3, Divisions 1-15. Annual lists and monthly and special lists.

Back to the Top

276 J. T. O’QUINN PAPERS, 1909-1928.

2 linear ft.

J. T. O’Quinn was a merchant and planter from Hanna, Louisiana, and a member of the Board of Directors of Planters Gin Company, Clarence, Louisiana, incorporated in 1927. Papers include correspondence and business materials regarding O’Quinn and Weaver, partnership, merchants and planters. The bulk of the papers consists of charter, minutes, correspondence, ledgers, invoices, and receipts regarding Planters Gin Company.

Back to the Top

277 UNITED DAUGHTERS OF THE CONFEDERACY, MINDEN CHAPTERS, RECORDS, 1912-1999.

3 linear ft.

Constitution, by-laws, application forms, minutes, membership lists and financial statements of the Minden Chapters of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.

Back to the Top

278 EDMUND CONGER PAPERS, 1911-1932.

.5 linear ft.

Edmond Conger, Shreveport High School graduate. Served in the Signal Officers Reserve Corps, Aviation Section, during World War I. Papers include correspondence, application to aviation school, and clippings. Also includes photographs of World War I maneuvers at Ft. Humbug and other locations around Shreveport.

Back to the Top

279 GRAHAM LEARY WORLD WAR II MATERIALS, 1941-1963.

1 linear ft.

Graham Leary, Shreveport resident stationed in France and Germany with the 1262 Engineer Combat Battalion, February, 1944-October, 1945. Scrapbook materials include Leary’s service log, a history of his unit, booklets, programs, tickets, photographs and other memorabilia. Also includes 28 newspapers headlining major World War II events through the assassination of John F. Kennedy.

Back to the Top

280 MARGARET ODOM PROGRAM COLLECTION, 1917-1957.

Located in Program and Pamphlet Collection.

Programs from Shreveport Civic Opera Association, Women’s Department Club, Shreveport Little Theatre, Community Concert Association, Shreveport Symphony, Frances O. Allen Presents, The Theatre Guild, Shreveport Music Festival Association, Shreveport Summer Theatre, Byrd High School, Municipal Auditorium Productions, and other miscellaneous programs.

Back to the Top