031 JOHN SIBLEY (1757-1837) PAPERS, 1718-1964.

MmssBox #1A

Surgeon in the American Revolution, member of the Louisiana Legislature, Commissioner under President Jefferson authorized to make treaties with tribes in territory ceded by Spain, author of an account of the Indian Tribes between Red River and the Mississippi. Sibley family history, genealogical notes, and a scrapbook of Charles Lindbergh newspaper clippings are included.

Back to the Top

032 BOYKIN WITHERSPOON COLLECTION, 1855-1904.

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

DeSoto Parish cotton planter. Receipts for hardware, dry goods, saddlery and statements for rent and cotton, clippings from Shreveport newspapers, and illustrated editions of publications on Shreveport in 1894 and 1904.

Back to the Top

033 WELLMAN FUNERAL HOME RECORDS, 1898-1924.

1.5 linear ft.

Correspondence with and invoices from funeral supply companies outside of Shreveport, 1910-1924; freight bills, statements, invoices from Shreveport firms many of which served Wellman’s paint and wall contracting business.

Back to the Top

034 B. J. MASSEY PHOTOGRAPHS, 1860-1950.

MmssBox 1A

Photographs of the three Caddo Parish Courthouses and a corner view of Edwards and Texas Streets looking toward the Texas Street Bridge.

Back to the Top

035 N. W. McCLURE, SR. RIVERBOAT PHOTOGRAPHS, 1857-1909.

Photograph Collection

Nineteen photographs, signatures of steamboat clerks and a Red River Line letter opener.

Back to the Top

036 C. G. GRAHAM HOLIDAY-IN-DIXIE PHOTOGRAPHS, 1949.

Photograph Collection

Shreveport photographer’s prints of the first Holiday-In-Dixie event in 1949.

Back to the Top

037 A. McINTYRE LEARY AND W. R. BARROW SHREVEPORT RECORDS, 1873-1953.

Framed Items / Hanging Art

Photographs of downtown Shreveport, 1873; 1891; 1911; 1919; 1936; 1950; and 1955, Caddo Gazette, June 12, 1844, and woodblock print of early Shreveport buildings.

Back to the Top

038 ARKANSAS LOUISIANA GAS COMPANY RECORDS, 1905-1976.

7 linear ft., including maps and photographs.

Formed by merger of Southern Cities Distributing Co. and the Arkansas Natural Gas Corp. in 1939, it became a publicly owned company in 1956. Includes reports, charts, surveys and historical files of several companies that preceded Arkla Gas. Also includes corporate charts, cost and accounting reports, surveys, partial correspondence files as well as maps, photographs, pamphlets, newspaper clippings and historical summaries of related business. (See also: Collection 012, Rendall Martin Papers for other Arkla Gas Records and maps.)

Back to the Top

039 ARCHIBALD BLUE McMILLAN PAPERS, 1850-1870.

.5 linear ft.

Born in Moore County, North Carolina, July 12, 1798, he moved to DeSoto Parish, Louisiana, in 1830. Includes correspondence, accounts, and receipts regarding business activity of McMillan, 1850-1870.

Back to the Top

040 MARY ELIZABETH RIVES DIARY, 1865-1899.

Film 3: 1 reel microfilm.

Widow of George Wyche Rives, she was a private school teacher in Shreveport before the Civil War. Post Civil War diary with short accounts of daily activities and comments concerning attitudes after the war.

Back to the Top