041 JACKSON B. DAVIS (1918- ) PAPERS, 1955-1980.

14 linear ft.

Jackson B. Davis was an attorney, cattleman, and Louisiana State Senator, 1956-1979. He was also the Chairman of the Economy Committee and a spokesman for the free enterprise system and fiscal conservatism. This collection contains correspondence, campaign materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, speeches, memoranda and printed materials from his service in the legislature.

Back to the Top

042 RED RIVER VALLEY ASSOCIATION (1927- ) RECORDS, 1883-1986.

90 linear ft.

An association representing the four states of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas for development of land and water resources of the Red River Valley Basin; officially it was organized as the Red River Valley Improvement Association in July, 1927. Included are minutes, correspondence, reports, maps, photographs, and legislation on problem conditions of land and water areas, scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, membership lists, and annual convention programs and expenses. Also includes biographical data and photographs of many RRVA officers and congressmen of the four-state area as well as numerous pamphlets, government documents and periodicals relating to water resources, flood control, and pollution control.

Back to the Top

043 CONFEDERATE RECORDS. MEDICAL DEPARTMENT, GENERAL HOSPITAL, SHREVEPORT, 1863-1865.

Film 14: 1 reel microfilm.
(Originals in War Dept. Collection of Confederate Records. National Archives and Records Service. Washington, D.C.)

Orders, circulars, letters received, 1863-1865; Register of Patients, 1864-1865, including index, comprise this collection.

Back to the Top

044 SHREVEPORT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE. CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS COMMITTEE, 1965-1971.

1 linear ft.

A study committee was appointed in 1966 of the Chamber of Commerce to analyze and project solutions for the city's capital improvement needs and to work with city officials to formulate bond requirements. Included are reports, correspondence, memoranda, costs and cost estimates, recommendations and proposed capital improvements for Department of Public Utilities, Public Safety, Public Works and Public Affairs.

Back to the Top

045 BICKHAM CHRISTIAN GENEALOGICAL COLLECTION, 1672-1970.

1.5 linear ft.

Binders of genealogical records, last will and testaments, land grants, pensions and bounty land applications, tax rolls, photocopies of original wills, and photographs of persons and places.

Back to the Top

046 WILL BATTLE CORRESPONDENCE, 1900-1903.

MmssBox #1A

Employee of the Office of the Collector of Customs in New Orleans. Correspondence between Battle and Mack Wellman, painter and business partner in Shreveport, relating to small amount of property in Shreveport.

Back to the Top

047 UNITED KLANS OF AMERICA CONSTITUTION AND MANUAL, 1968.

1 linear ft.

The first volume includes The Kloran, The Klan In Action and the Constitution, 1968; the second volume is the Klansman’s Manual with lessons and quizzes.

Back to the Top

048 GOODLOE R. STUCK PAPERS, 1893-1995.

9 linear ft.

World War II U. S. Army Officer, Goodloe Stuck was also a Shreveport advertising executive and prominent local historian and preservationist. This collection includes personal and business correspondence, diaries and newspaper clippings from his months as a POW in Germany in 1945, advertising brochures, and pamphlets on industrial and manufacturing firms in Shreveport from the 1950’s, as well as photographs and miscellaneous items in historic preservation. Also included are materials used in preparing books, Heritage Scrapbook, Shreveport Madam, and End of the Land, as well as many photographs of people and places important in Shreveport history.

Back to the Top

049 MARY A. WOOD PAPERS, 1886-1917.

MmssBox #1A

Letter regarding land in Rush County, Kansas, certificates from Bureau of Pensions, sidewalk specifications from City Clerk’s office, Vicksburg, Mississippi, and army camp photograph.

Back to the Top

050 J. FRANK GLENN (1854-1891) RIVERBOAT MATERIALS, 1879-1891.

1 linear ft.

Frank Glenn was a steersman of the Red River Association and a clerk on several steamboats. Includes 15 foot long, "Points from Pensacola, Florida to Geneva, Alabama, November 15, 1880," a small log book, and a commercial calendar with various tables and landings, Shreveport to Fulton, February, 1890, and a list of landings on Red River, 1879, and a book of "Scraps" with newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top