011 JAMES GARDNER (1924-2010) PAPERS, 1954-1982.

20 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

James Gardner was a mayor of Shreveport, 1954-1958, a former State Representative, 1952-1955, and a Shreveport City Councilman, 1979-1982. Newspaper clippings on his administration contained in scrapbooks cover the period November 9, 1954 through November 11, 1958. Correspondence and work files cover his term as City Councilman, 1979-1982.

Back to the Top

012 RENDALL MARTIN (1905-1992) PAPERS, 1833-1977.

17 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Rendall Martin was a Civil Engineer for Arkansas Louisiana Gas Company and later chief clerk of Plant Accounting. The collection includes maps, photographs, correspondence and booklets relating primarily to the oil, gas, and public utilities in the Ark-La-Tex area. Also included are land and geographical surveys, cost analysis, annual reports, cost studies, accounting cases and legislation relating to the oil and gas industry, as well as some materials on the Louisiana State Federation of Labor, 1916-1942, and the Booher-Martin families.

Back to the Top

013 GEORGE MACON PENDLETON (1790-? ) FAMILY LETTERS, 1848-1904.

Film 4: 1 reel microfilm.

Collection Inventory

George Macon Pendleton, Sr. of Walkerton, Virginia and son, George M. Pendleton, Jr. moved to Arkansas and Jefferson, Texas. The correspondence between the elder and the younger Pendleton and with the brothers and sisters relates to family circumstances and education in rural East Texas and Arkansas in the 19th Century.

Back to the Top

014 CADDO PARISH POLICE JURY (1840-1982) MINUTE BOOKS, 1840-1982.

111 linear ft.; Film 2: 16 reels microfilm

Collection Inventory

The Police Jury was the administrative and legislative body for Caddo Parish, Louisiana. The collection contains minute books, 1840-1982, with articles adopted by the Police Jury, petitions for judicial action, for calling elections, and for awarding contracts on roads, bridges, levees, and other parish needs. These are working papers of the Police Jury, 1877-1940, including correspondence, legal documents, financial materials, petitions, and ordinances. Aerial photographs of Shreveport and Caddo Parish from 1950-1977.

Back to the Top

015 SHREVEPORT CITY COUNCIL (1839-1984) PROCEEDINGS AND MINUTES, 1839-1984.

Film 1: 26 reels microfilm.

Collection Inventory

City government of Shreveport was run by the mayor-trustee system until Reconstruction, and then by the administrative board leadership system which was appointed by the governor during Reconstruction. Later, Shreveport was run as an incorporated city with a mayor and four administrators, 1871-1878; again by the old trustee form of government, 1878-1910, and after that, by a commission form of government, 1910-1978. These minute books include proceedings and minutes, 1839-1979, resolutions, petitions, official records, and ordinances. An index of records through the 1950’s is available.

Back to the Top

016 HENRY G. HALL (1833-1873) DIARY, 1870-1873.

Film 5: 1 reel microfilm.
(Originals with donor.)

Collection Inventory

Hall was a Shreveport attorney, educated at Princeton University in the 1850’s, and was later a Caddo Parish judge in the 1870’s. His diary, January 1, 1870, through October, 1873 includes information on activities in and around Shreveport and is particularly important for its account of the Yellow Fever Epidemic, August-October, 1873. Judge Hall himself succumbed to the fever. The collection also includes some earlier letters written while he was a student at Princeton.

Back to the Top

017 SHREVEPORT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE. LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE. MINUTES AND CORRESPONDENCE, 1941-1942.

MmssBox #17

Collection Inventory

The Legislative Committee was created by Chamber President L. M. Moffitt and chaired by Aubry Pyburn to report on current legislation. Minutes and correspondence relating to oil depletion allowances, income tax, and submerged lands bill, Chamber membership roster, 1941, are included.

Back to the Top

018 AUBRY PYBURN (1893-1952) CORRESPONDENCE, 1940-1951.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Aubry Pyburn was an attorney, a member of the Louisiana State Law Institute, a member of Local Government Committee to study the Louisiana State Constitution for a new constitution in 1947, and a chairman of the Shreveport Charter Commission, 1949. Correspondence between members of the Local Government Subcommittee on the Constitution project, reports and notes on the proposed new constitution, and correspondence of the Shreveport Charter Commission regarding the City Charter and county-parish boundaries, as well as a bibliography of Municipal Government, 1917-1948 comprise this collection.

Back to the Top

019 SANBORN FIRE INSURANCE MAPS, 1885-1955.

5 linear ft.; 7 volumes; Film 49: 1 reel microfilm

Collection Inventory

Insurance maps of Shreveport, Bossier City and other Northwest Louisiana towns, 1884-1946, provide details of structures for insurance purposes.

Back to the Top

020 FRANK FULCO NEWSPAPERS, 1929-1973.

9 linear ft.; Film #185 &186 located in Microforms & Media: 6 reels

Collection Inventory

Editor of Italian Moderna and its successor The News Record, Frank Fulco was one of the original members of the Tux Boys and the Italian Moderna Society, and later, the Progressive Men’s Club. First man with Italian surname to be elected to public office in Caddo Parish, served on Caddo Police Jury, 1936-40, and served as state legislator, 1956-1972. Full run of Italian Moderna, vols. 1-3, (printed in both English and Italian), and its successor, The News Record, vols. 4-17, gives perspective on Italian community in Shreveport.

Back to the Top