241 DR. EMMETT ASSEFF CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ’72 PAPERS.

.5 linear ft.

Dr. Emmett Asseff, delegate to Louisiana Constitutional Convention of 1972. Native of DeSoto Parish, received a B.A. and M.A. from LSU, Ph.D. in government from University of North Carolina. Author of many books on Louisiana government. Organized and directed the Louisiana Legislative Council and helped organize the Public Affairs Research (PAR) Council. Collection contains correspondence of DeSoto Parish, and clippings dealing with his campaign for the state senate.

Back to the Top

242 INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS, NEITH LODGE NO. 21, RECORDS, 1848-1979.

10 linear ft.

Independent Order of Odd Fellows is a fraternal beneficiary society founded in the U.S. in 1819. The Neith Lodge No. 21 was chartered in Shreveport in 1848. The society offers scholarships and financial assistance to students beyond the high school level and sponsors other humanitarian projects. These records include minute books, ledgers and cash books.

Back to the Top

243 DAUGHTERS OF THE CROSS PAPERS, 1858-1998.

75 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Daughters of the Cross in America was founded by the Very Reverend Mother Mary Hyacinthe Le Conniat. Mother Hyacinthe and nine Sisters came to Louisiana in 1855 and established the first Daughters of the Cross Convent and School in Cocoville. In 1867 Mother Hyacinthe went back to France to establish a Novitiate for Louisiana which was moved from Cocoville to Shreveport in 1868, the year St. Vincent’s Academy was established. These papers include booklets, articles and programs that trace the history of the Order both in France and Louisiana.

Back to the Top

244 MAUDE HEARN O’PRY (1872-1964) MATERIALS, 1839-1901.

1 linear ft.

Maude Hearn O’Pry was the author of Chronicles of Shreveport and Caddo Parish. These materials include letters, receipts, bills, and statements of account regarding early Shreveport.

Back to the Top

245 TOM BELL (1886-1963) PAPERS, 1895-2000.

8 linear ft.

William Thomas Bell was born in Lancaster County, South Carolina in 1886. As a young man, he moved to Corsicana, Texas to work in the oil fields. He met and married Annie Daniels and on their honeymoon in 1911 they moved to Vivian, Louisiana. For the next 50 years Tom Bell worked in the oil fields. He drilled his first well in Trees City and during his career drilled over 100 wells in Louisiana and Texas. This collection includes correspondence, legal documents, clippings, photographs and other materials relating to the Bell-Daniels families. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence, legal documents, financial statements and photographs regarding Tom Bell and his work in the oil fields.

Back to the Top

246 MRS. W. H. MORGAN LEDGER, 1932-1945.

Film 56: 1 reel microfilm

Personal and business account ledger of Mrs. W. H. Morgan, who owned a small (40 acre) farm near Keatchie, Louisiana.

Back to the Top

247 COMMUNITY PHOTOGRAPHIC FAIR COLLECTION.

Photograph Collection

Approximately 1050 photographs collected in 1982 during the Community Photographic Fair held at the Barnwell Center sponsored by LSU-S Archives and the Shreveport Journal. These photographs depict Shreveport people, places and events during the course of Shreveport history.

Back to the Top

248 THOMAS D. HUDNALL DIARY AND LEDGER, 1887-1904.

.5 linear ft.

Diary and account ledger of Thomas D. Hudnall, who was a carpenter and builder from Spring Ridge, Louisiana, are included.

Back to the Top

249 R. O. ROY PAPERS, 1899-1965.

6 linear ft.

Correspondence, clippings and publications relate to R. O. Roy and his involvement in the oil business.

Back to the Top

250 AMERICAN LEGION. LOWE–McFARLANE POST NO. 14 RECORDS, 1940-1965.

2 linear ft.

Scrapbooks, annual reports, clippings and publications regarding Lowe-McFarlane Post No. 14 of the American Legion comprise this collection.

Back to the Top