111 AGATHA IDA FULCO-FERTITTA COLLECTION, 1917-1967.

6 linear ft.

Agatha Ida Fulco-Fertitta was a long-time member of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church and the Italian Ladies Society. Her materials include personal and business correspondence, programs, publications of the Blessed Sacrament Society and the St. Joseph’s Church, and other magazines, books, and publications.

Back to the Top

112 COL. D. W. SPURLOCK CORRESPONDENCE, 1918-1935.

1 linear ft.

Chairman of the Aerial Service Committee of the Chamber of Commerce in the 1920’s, Col. D. W. Spurlock was also the American Legion Post Commander. Included are correspondence, reports, and newspaper clippings relating to air service into Shreveport, the location of the National Guard Squadron, and the Third Attack Wing in the Shreveport area, and the planning of both the Municipal Airport and Barksdale Air Force Base.

Back to the Top

113 STOCKSLAGER-WALTERS-WEAKS FAMILY COLLECTION, 1847-1920.

1 linear ft.

Photographs show people and places in and around Shreveport in the late 19th Century. This collection also includes newspaper clippings, a few letters, and death notices and funeral invitations from the Shreveport area.

Back to the Top

114 LOUISIANA VOTER REGISTRATION BOOKS, 1898.

Film 36: 7 reels microfilm.
(Originals in Louisiana State Archives)

Voter Registration Books for 1898 are arranged alphabetically by parish.

Back to the Top

115 PORT OF NEW ORLEANS PASSENGER LISTS, 1813-1866.

Film 37: 2 reels microfilm.

Lists of passenger entering the Port of New Orleans, 1813-1866, are arranged chronologically and include names of boats, passenger embarkation points, ports, destinations, and an index to names of persons entering the port.

Back to the Top

116 HAROLD R. KING (1945- ) PAPERS, 1973-1981.

2 linear ft. RESTRICTED.

Harold R. King was noted Shreveport author was noted for his popular fiction. Papers include files and editors’ manuscripts for Four Days, Paradigm Red, Red Alert, Taskmaster, Closing Ceremonies, The Contenders, Awwk!, World War III, and Code of Arms, as well as correspondence with editor and agent and copies of the books.

Back to the Top

117 L. CALHOUN ALLEN, JR. (1921-1991) SCRAPBOOKS AND PAPERS, 1962-1978.

28 linear ft.

L. Calhoun Allen, Jr. was Shreveport’s Commissioner of Public Utilities, 1962-1970, and Shreveport’s last mayor, 1970-1978, under the Commission form of government. The collection includes 29 scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, photographs, and other items, 1962-1978, and five boxes of City Council files, 1970-1978.

Back to the Top

118 CHARLES T. BEAIRD DESEGREGATION PLAN RECORDS, 1969-1973.

2.5 linear ft.

Charles T. Beaird was professor of philosophy at Centenary College and Chairman of the court-appointed Citizen’s Committee for Desegregation for the Caddo Parish School system. Records include minutes, news releases, recommendations, and correspondence of the committee. Also included are additional reports, court cases, petitions, and published material utilized by the committee.

Back to the Top

119 H. O. WISEMAN (1903-1992) PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION, 1942-1977.

22 linear ft.

H. O. Wiseman was both a Louisiana photographer and company photographer for United Gas. Photographs include images of Louisiana plantation homes and Louisiana landmarks, as well as local Northwest Louisiana subjects.

Back to the Top

120 EDGAR OG ALLEN (1869-1950) MEMOIRS, 1870-1946.

.5 linear ft.

Shreveport Street Commissioner and Police Chief, 1906-1910, Edgar Og Allen was also an administrator with the U.S. Railroad Administration during World War I. This collection contains his reminiscences of his years with the railroads, 1893-1906, and 1910-1921, and as a Shreveport City official, 1906-10.

Back to the Top